
375 S. High Street 

Columbus Ohio, 43215-4520 

 

FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT 
 

 
 

DEFENDANT RIGHTS 
 

The purpose of arraignment court is to inform the Defendant what they have been charged with 
and to have them enter an initial plea to those charges. An arraignment is not a trial date. 
 
Defendants in arraignment court have been charged with one or more offenses that are classified as 
misdemeanors under Ohio law. The copy of the complaint indicates what level of misdemeanor or 
misdemeanors the Defendant has been charged with. 
 
There are six levels of misdemeanors under Ohio Law. 
 

1. Minor Misdemeanor – maximum penalty is a $150 fine and up to 30 hours of community service 
2. Misdemeanor of the 4th degree – maximum penalty is a $250 fine, 30 days in jail and up to 200 

hours of community service 
3. Misdemeanor of the 3rd degree – maximum penalty is a $500 fine, 60 days in jail and up to 200 

hours of community service 
4. Misdemeanor of the 2nd degree – maximum penalty is a $750 fine, 90 days in jail and up to 200 

hours of community service 
5. Misdemeanor of the 1st degree – maximum penalty is a $1,000 fine, 180 days in jail and up to 

500 hours of community service 
a. Some first degree misdemeanors are called serious misdemeanors because for those 

offenses the maximum jail sentence is 1 year. 
6. Unclassified misdemeanor - the penalty varies and you will be informed of the penalty when 

your case is called. 
 
Before entering a plea, defendants have the right to have any complaints against them read in court and 
to have the court advise them of the nature of the charges, including the possible penalties. 
 
In addition, prior to entering an initial plea, defendants have the right to speak to an attorney.  If they 
cannot afford a private attorney, they may ask to speak to representatives from the public defenders 
office to see if they qualify for their legal representation.  If defendants do not qualify for the services of 
the public defender, or if they wish to speak to a private attorney, they may ask for a reasonable 
continuance.  By local court rule, a reasonable continuance is a continuance that is no longer than 30 
days in length. 
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Once defendants have been advised of the pending charges and the possible penalties, they will be 
asked to enter one of the following pleas:   
 

1. GUILTY – An admission of guilt to the truth of the facts alleged in the complaint. If a defendant 
pleads guilty, the court will find them guilty and in most cases sentence them the same day. 

2. NO CONTEST – No an admission of guilt, but an admission of the truth of the facts alleged in 
the complaint, along with any additional information that may be provided to the court by the 
prosecutor.  Pleading no contest is not a short version of a trial.  If the complaint, along with any 
additional information provided to the court by the prosecutor, state an offense, the defendant 
will be found guilty.  A plea of No Contest cannot be used against the defendant in a later civil 
action. 

3. NOT GUILTY – Denial of guilt and/or a denial of the truth of the facts alleged in the complaint. 
Pleading not guilty will result in the case being randomly assigned to one of 15 municipal court 
judges and a hearing being scheduled to appear in court at a later date. 

 
If a plea of guilty or no contest is made, the defendant is giving up several important constitutional 
rights including: 

• the right to have an attorney present; 
• the right to a reasonable continuance in order to seek the advice of an attorney; 
• the right to have a trial before a judge or jury; 
• the right to confront the accuser and cross-examine witnesses and present witnesses and 

evidence;  
• the right to testify or remain silent; 
• the right to appeal the decision of the Court; 
• and the right to have the State or City prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. 

 
If a plea of Not Guilty is entered, the defendant will be asked to make some additional decisions: 

• The defendant will be asked whether they want the case tried to a judge or a jury.  If charged 
with minor misdemeanor offenses only, they may only get a trial before a judge.  If charged with 
one or more jail-able offenses (misdemeanors of the first, second, third or fourth degree), they 
may ask for a trial before a jury. 

• The defendant will be asked whether they want a Speedy Trial or to have the case set at the 
court’s convenience.  If a speedy trial is requested, the defendant is asking to have the case tried 
within a time period provided by law and the next court date will be set quickly.  If the right to 
speed trial is waived, the case will be set at a later date. 

 
A court reporter or digital recording system is present in the courtroom capturing everything that is 
happening in the hearing. Defendants should be very careful about making any statements concerning 
the facts of the case, as the comments will be recorded and they can and will be used against the 
defendant if the case goes to trial. 
 

 
If a plea of not guilty is entered or a continuance is requested, defendants can sign up for 

text reminders for the future court dates. The request form can be found on the Forms 
page of the Court’s website: municipalcourt.franklincountyohio.gov. 

http://www.municipalcourt.franklincountyohio.gov/

