SAMPLE FORM AND INFORMATION |

Small Claims Court is for
money damages only,
up to $6,000.

Individuals, corporations, or
partnerships living or doing
business in Franklin County,
Ohio can sue and be sued in
Small Claims Court.

Individuals

Must be 18 years or older. ltis
important to accurately list
the name and address of
each plainfiff and defendant
in the lawsuit, Do not use
nicknames. If there are
multiple individuals in the
lawsuit please list each name
and address separately.

Partnerships

A general partner or an
attorney may represent a
partnership in Small Claims
Court. The names and
addresses for most Chio
partnerships are registered
with the Franklin County
Recorder's Office.

Corporations

A corporation may sue or be
sued in its own name. Cnly an
atforney may present legal
arguments or file motions and
collections paperwork on
behalf of a corporation.
Corporations, their statutory
agents, and addresses, are
registered with the Ohio
Secretary of State.

FRAMKLIN COUNTY MURICHAL COURT
SMALL CLAIMS DIVISION

Case po. CV |
The Other Party's Name

Your First and Last Name

Your Street Address Other Party's Street Address

City, State, and Zip Code City, State, and Zip Code

Your Phone Number Other Party's Phone Number

Defendant(s} Name, Address, ZIP Code, and
Telegphone Mumbers

Plaintiff(s} Name, Address, ZIP Code, and
Teiephone Numbers

{1} Has ihis dispute beentomediaion? { 1 Yes [ 1 No

{2} Is the Defendant curmently In e United States Milltary Service? [ J Yes [ 1 No

{3) The Surmmons (Defendant's Notice of the Complaint) will be sent by cerdified mall. if yoU valve nolica o
falled sepvice and the cerlified miall is retumed as "Refused™ or “Unclaimed,” the Court will resend by
ordinary mai and set a new trial date. Do you want to waive nodice of falled service? [ ] Yes { ] hic

P " COMPLAINT

Answer "Yes" or
“No" to these -
three questions. 1

Explain why the Defendant(s)
owe you money.

How, when, and where did the
claim arise®

This should be a brief statement!

What Happens Nexi?

Watch your Maill The hearing
date will be scheduled once
the compidint is filed.

Please use an additional page if necessary

Plaintit demands judgment against Defendant in the sum of § Dollar Amount | plus court costs and

[nisrest,
COMPLAINANT'S OATH

Wl’ife FI{ST Gnd LGSf Ndme Of chh P|Clihf|ff (pnn; first and last nan}e)’ ig

(check one) { | Plalntiff [ ] Plaintiffs attomey [ 1 an officer or salared employee of the Plaingif
coyporation. Complainant alsc states the follawing: :

4 declare under penalty of law that this Compiaint is true and cotrect to the best of my knowléctge,”

Signatuse: ) Date;

) / Plaintiff, Plzindffs attomey, or Piaindiff's officer or salaried employes.

Each Plaintiff Must Sign and
IERTEE . datethe Complaint!

Aﬂomey Registration#:




C.NFUSED AB.UT

M }_- '-.. [N

_If you select YES
- to Questlon #3

1

RS
i e remrm———e e
Lo e s T

. You give the court the’
permlssmn to resend.
the summons and -
complaint by ordinary
mail if the certified
mail is returned as

“Refused” or "Unclaimed"

The court will resend the
summons and complaint
automatically with no
additional work required
by you if the certified
mail is returned “Refused”

~or "Unclaimed”

There will be no added
court costs if you
choose to select yes

Also, YOU MUST check
'Waiver of Notification of
failure’ line on ‘New Civil'
Case Filing' cover sheet
if you select Yes

If you seiec:t NO

to Question #3

You will be notified about
failed service and you
will be responsible for
requesting the court to
resend the summons

and complaint

- You must do additional

work because you must
give the court further
instructions on how you
want to proceed

You may have to pay

- additional court fees

if you choose to select
no

DO NOT check ‘Waiver
of Notification of failure’
fine on ‘New Civil Case
Filing’ cover sheet if you
select No



Do you need an interpreter? Select language.

FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT
SMALL CLAIMS DIVISION

Case No. CvVi

Plaintiff(s) Name, Address, ZIP Code, and Defendant(s) Name, Address, ZIP Code, and
Telephone Numbers Telephone Numbers

(1) Has this dispute been to mediation? [ ] Yes [ 1 No

(2) Is the Defendant currently in the United States Military Service? [ ] Yes [ ] No

(3) The Summons (Defendant’s Notice of the Compiaint) will be sent by certified mail. If you waive notice of
failed service and the certified mail is returned as “Refused” or “Unclaimed,” the Court will resend by
ordinary mail and set a new trial date. Do you want to waive notice of failed service? [ ] Yes [ ] No

COMPLAINT
Please use an additional page if necessary.
Plaintiff demands judgment against Defendant in the sum of $ , plus court costs and

interest.
COMPLAINANT’S OATH

{print first and last name), is
(check one) [ ] Plaintiff [ ] Plaintiffs attorney [ | an officer or salaried employee of the Plaintiff
corporation. Complainant also states the following:

“I declare under penalty of law that this Complaint is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.”

Signature: Date:

gﬁpj‘iﬁf (Sm?g Sggﬁzgu(g:ﬂ% Plaintiff, Plaintiff's attorney, or Plaintiff's officer or salaried employse.

CIEBIE (Mandarin) 5 e (Amhari) Attorney Registration #:
C1pycckuts (Russian) CJ Tigrigna (Tigriaya)

(] T 38T (Nepali)

[I8ign Language [7 Other



NEW CIVIL CASE FILING COVERSHEET

LORI M TYACK, CLERK OF COURTS
FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT

THIS COVER SHEET MUST BE COMPLETED FOR ALL NEW CASE FILINGS
(Please check all that apply)

CASE TYPE:
“E” Personal Injury/Property Damage $116.00
“F” Contracts/Notes/Accounts $116.00
“F” Cognovit $116.00
“H” 12 Point / Non-Compliance Petitions/Out-of-State $116.00
“H” BMV Reinstatement Plan $ 20.00
“H” Certificate of Judgment $ 84.00
“H” Declaratory Judgment $116.00
“1? Small Claims $ 71.00
“p” Parking Violations Bureau Petition $116.00
“CV_” Change of Venue $ 97.00
“EV_" Civil Environmental $116.00

SERVICE TYPE: (per each Defendant)

Certified Mail $10.00

Bailiff Service $25.00 (Franklin County Residents ONLY. Instructions must be filled out.)
FedEx $15.00

Personal/Residence Process Service $25.00 (must include approval entry)

Waiver of Notification of Failure (Form CV-81 MUST be completed)

EVICTIONS
CASE TYPE:

“G” F.E.D. 1 Cause of Action (EVICTION ONLY) $128.00
“G” F.E.D. 2 Causes of Action (EVICTION WITH MONEY) $165.00

NOTE: The above filing fees include Ordinary Mail service PLUS one of the choices below for up to 3 Defendants
and/or addresses. Requests for additional Defendants and/or addresses will be charged additional
service fees based on the current court fee schedule.

ORDINARY MAIL SERVICE WITH ADDITIONAL

Bailiff Service (Instructions must be filled out.)
Certified Mail (Must be signed for to perfect service)
Process Server (Must include Approval Entry)

Signature of Filing Party: Phone # :

Defendant Phone # (if available):
*Provision of phone number may assist the court if problems are encountered

PLEASE PRESENT COMPLETED FORM WITH ORIGINAL & SERVICE COPIES TO CASHIER. MAKE CHECKS
OR MONEY ORDERS PAYABLE TO FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT, or FCMC. ANY RETURNED
CHECKS WILL BE CHARGED A $25.00, RETURNED CHECK FEE.

Rev: 3/7/25
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